Impressionism ~ My Opinion

The first movement of modern art is impressionism.  I like it more than the previous styles we have studied.  Impressionism is the capture of a moment with loose strokes of the brush and blending colors.  Hard lines and direct contrasts are difficult to find.  I think that the name impressionism, though originally named as an attempt to dampen this style, is a great title for this style.  It is almost as if at a short glance one can get an impression of the mood and tone of what the artist was trying to depict and what is happening in the painting.

I really like Monet’s Impressionism works.  When I see one of his paintings for the first time, my first impression usually does not change much after studying the image.  Also, he has a way of depicting places using color to give a mood and also to give the audience an impression of what the artist is seeing in a moment.  I like to look at the Monet paintings San Giorgio and Thames Below Westminster side by side.  One of the paintings depicts a warm, clean, and romantic setting while the other gives the sensation of a cool, damp, and coal dust dirty city.  Can you guess which painting goes with my descriptions?  San Giorgio was painted in 1908 depicting an island at sunset off the coast of Venice, Italy.  Thames Below Westminister was painted by Monet in 1871 and depicts the London skyline at the end of the 1800s.  Both paintings are beautiful impressionist works. If you follow the link below you can see these two works side by side.  See if you get the same first impressions from these works that I did.

Source

http://www.claude-monet-paintings.com/monet-paintings.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Impressionism ~ My Opinion

  1. Julia says:

    I agree that impressionism is a proper title for this style. The artist were trying to capture a moment in time. Something that catches the eye in a second and draws you in. I like how the artists use color and light to depict the emotion. Color is one of the easiest ways to depict an emotion. Like how most people associate black with the unknown and secrets or yellow with the sun and happy days. Like in your examples of Monet’s two paintings. One is dark and foreboding while the other is light and happy with the sunset.

    What didn’t you like about the other styles of painting?

  2. Brittany Milton says:

    This style of painting is so far my favorite as well. I like how it allows the artist to be more free with their painting. I think you got all the components needed great job.

  3. oafreelong says:

    I too believe Impressionism is an excellent name for this style of painting. I really think Monet’s paintings impress a lot of feeling upon the viewer. You did a really good job of fulfilling the assignment.

  4. jmarks22481 says:

    I like your interpretation and yes the name is appropriate. I initially was blanketly against impressionism as more of a movement to increase knowledge of artistic stylings and not creating many successful works, but you have made me reconsider. Good entry.

Leave a comment